Surya Namaskara

Please Share :
Pin Share

Surya Namaskara


The SUN is the STAR at the center of our SOLAR SYSTEM and most important source of energy for LIFE on EARTH. Its diameter is almost 109 times that of Earth and its mass is around 330000 times of Earth. And it has more then 99 % mass the Solar-System.

The SUN has great importance for Indians not only as Energy Source but also from spiritual point of view. In Sanskrit name used for SUN is ‘SURYA’.

In ancient times we worshiped sun on daily basis. In Yoga the SUN is represented by SURYA-NADI, the pranic channel which carries the vital life giving force.

Surya Namaskara is well known from Vedic Age. Today when we have very busy life, we don’t have much time to take care of ourself, surya namaskar play very important role in maintaining the health. It is effective way loosening up, stretching, massaging and toning all the joints, muscles and internal organs of the body. Its versatility and applications make it one of the most useful method of adopting in active life. Surya Namaskara has direct impact on solar energy of human body, flowing throw surya-nadi.

Surya Namaskara has 12 different asans / positions :

  • 01 : Pranam Asan

  • 02 : Hasta Uttan Asan

  • 03 : Padahast Asan

  • 04 : Ashwa Sanchalan Asan

  • 05 : Parvat Asan

  • 06 : Ashtanga Namaskara

  • 07 : Bhujang Asan

  • 08 : Parvat Asan

  • 09 : Ashwa Sanchalan Asan

  • 10 : Padahast Asan

  • 11 : Hasta Utthan Asan

  • 12 : Pranam Asan

All asans can be seen in Sculpture.

For benefits beginners can start form 2 or 3 rounds per day, and can add 1 or 2 more round every week. Once advance stages people should practice in between 3-12 slow and 3-12 fast steps. After that surya-namaskara should be done under expert guidance.